Town Government

The Town government and oversight of public facilities is provided by 6 volunteer organizations:

  • The operation of the public facilities in Uniontown is governed by a Mayor and 5 elected council members. The regular council meeting is held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6PM in the meeting room at Town Hall.

  • Leadership in development of the comprehensive plan for the town and land use regulations is provided by the Planning Commission. The commission meets on the second Monday of each month in the meeting room at Town Hall.

  • The Parks and Recreation Commission provides the oversight and leadership in development and operation of parks and recreation programs.

  • The oversight of the operation of the community building is provided by the Community Center Board of Directors.

  • The Uniontown Community Development Association is a public development authority chartered by the Town to promote and facilitate the economic improvement of the Town. The Association is operated by a volunteer Board of Directors who meet at 4:30 on the first Wednesday of each month in the Dahmen Barn meeting room.

  • Fire protection and emergency medical services are provided by the volunteer Fire District #14.

The municipal code for Uniontown is available by clicking on the following link: Uniontown Municipal Code. This publication may not have the latest ordinances passed by the Town Council.  Call the Town clerk, Lynda Devorak, at 509-229-3805 or email her at to check for updates on a specific ordinance. 

The Town Mayor and Council regularly scheduled meeting is the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 PM in Town Hall.  Other meetings and work sessions are scheduled as needed.  Any special meetings are posted on the bulletin board at Town Hall.

The Mayor is David Jacobs.  Council members include Steve Kelly, Dan Warner, John Jacobs, Brian Davies and Dave Smith.

The Town's staff includes:

  • Clerk Treasurer, Lynda Devorak, Assistant Clerk Treaurer, Sarah Papendick, 509-229-3805, email:
  • Public works superintendent: Steve Bremer, 208-791-6657
  • Public works maintenance, building inspector and animal control officer: Brent Lane, 509-552-9434,  email:
  • Police Chief: Dan Hargraves, Police officer, Riley S Myklebust, 509-229-3290, email:

The Planning Commission meets on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 PM in Town Hall.  The members of the Commission are: Brian Bannon, Brian Davies, Eugene Dixon and Maurice Moneymaker.  One position is open.

Chapter 17 of the municipal code is the section with all land use and zoning restrictions.  Click here to view or download the Land Use Ord as of June 2010.pdf

The Uniontown Community Development Association Board meeting is the first Wednesday of each month at 4:30 PM and is held at the Dahmen Barn.  The Board members of UCDA include Dale Miller, President, Eugene Dixon, Vice President, John McCann, Secretary/Treasurer, Marilyn Burg, Junette Dahmen, Lee Druffel, Ed Garretson, Julie Hartwig, Pat O'Neill, and Marty Weider.